Tarnished

You took my darkness from me.

I was antiqued, collecting dust, tarnished by time, and you, with all of your noble intentions, took me down
You dusted me off, gentle and firm, and cleared away my darkness.

I miss it.
I felt like it gave me character, a beautiful piece indeed, but worn with age, forgotten, yet hauntingly beautiful.
It gave me life, it gave me value that most people did not understand.

It has been so long since I was shiny and new, adorning your mantle piece, but as I sat and collected dust in that cold and dismal place, I learned to see myself in such an appreciative way.
But you in your admirable efforts, trying to save me, took away my darkness.
I miss it everyday.

Leave a Reply

