Alive

Does it mean something when my heart stops beating?
I mean, am I still alive?
Because your presence is weighing down on my chest, pressure rising, temperature increasing, my body physically going into a state of shock.
Just from seeing your face.

I never really understood when young girls would say the oh so common phrase, “My heart stopped when I saw him.”
I understand now.
It means that physiologically I can’t breathe, I can’t function, no oxygen is being pumped to my brain.
It means the pause in between heart beats lasts a little bit longer than normal.
It means my nerves are firing so rapidly I can’t control them.

Is this what they call love?

Or death?
I never realized how similar the two were.

Leave a Reply

