Reference Book

Familiar words have brainwashed me and I still know I have much yet to learn.
How to let go.
How to hold on.
How to let my tears be wiped away-or not NEED to fall.
We are children embracing and embarking on play-dates and precipices.
Emotional abuse has written our joint novel, the one we keep on the shelf to collect dust, purely for show.
Let me rewrite your story.
Let me add in sunsets and making love.
Let me dictate the forgotten language of trust that your story should be written in.
Maybe when I learn how to love without receiving I’ll have someone write all they have learned about me, about us.
We’ll start our own library, full of reference books to share.

Leave a Reply

